Nigel Slater’s Moroccan spiced lamb shanks with aubergine

lamb-shank-tagineVery bland, this recipe. I had a couple of lamb shanks in the fridge this afternoon and couldn’t find my favourite tajine recipe, so I opted for good old Nigel Slater. Slater rarely lets us down, but tonight he was found wanting in the flavour stakes. His tajine called for onions, garlic, cinnamon and a couple of teaspoons of harissa paste. It needed more flavours, more oomph. I added a good heap of ras el hanout, which I think is added at the end of cooking, much like garam masala; but I fear it may have lost its potency in the years since we bought it in a Marrakech market … Next time I’ll turn to Claudia Roden and her New Book of Middle Eastern Food.

lemon-and-corianderOn the upside, the couscous was zingy: I mixed 7 ounces of it with 250ml of hot water, then stirred in a glug of olive oil, a generous handful of coriander,  salt, pepper and the juice of a whole lemon.

[This post was brought to you by Lorelei and the Boat Train by the Pogues]

One Response

Leave a Reply

